Veggies

Sauteed Beet Greens

img_0842

In my quest to save money and try new things, I decided to try out cooking beet greens.

I scanned a few different recipes and just came up with this really quick method:

I separated the leaves from the stems, leaving about a half inch of stem at the bottom of each leaf, and then chopped the leaves finely.

I sauteed one clove of garlic:img_0851

And then added the chopped greens:

img_0855

I then sauteed the greens over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until they cooked down. I found the experience to be more or less identical to the experience of cooking swiss chard.

Frankly, the amount of greens I was left with after cooking, which had come with my $4 bundle of 4 organic beets, was not particularly impressive.  It really just came down to two servings.  Still, it was a nice little extra freebie.

If one were to have a significant amount of beet greens to cook, here’s a recipe which looked really good:

Simply Recipes: Beet greens with garlic, bacon, brown sugar, red pepper flakes

That’s all for now!

Leave a Reply

