Side Dishes, Vegetarian Dishes, Veggies

Oven-Roasted Beets

img_0005

I once had a terrible experience with pickled beets at age 8, and refused to eat them in any form for the next 20 years.

My friend Julia recently made me try them again, however.  Thanks to her, I realized that when beets are not pickled, they can actually be delicious.

Since then I’ve started really enjoying these earthy vegetables in salads and side dishes when I go out to eat.

img_0006
Got this awesome side dish at a restaurant: beets coated with tahini sauce and kale.  Really good.

My next move is going to be to prepare beets myself, at home.  They’re calling to me now, every time I pass by them in the grocery aisle.

Here’s a tutorial from The Kitchn on the general science of roasting beets (they point out that you can also cook the greens, as well).

The Barefoot Contessa suggests coating them with olive oil, fresh thyme, salt & pepper, raspberry vinegar, and the juice of one orange.  (Not sure if I’ll bother with all of those ingredients my first time around, but even half of them will probably come out good).

You can also roast them with just olive oil alone, which would probably work better if you were planning to incorporate them into a larger recipe.  (Check out this recipe from Bobby Flay which includes goat cheese, pine nuts, and lemon-tarragon vinaigrette).

***

Um, anyone who hasn’t been averse to beets for two decades is probably already aware of this, but for my own general notes: there are yellow beets as well.

img_0147

Hope you enjoyed this post!

Leave a Reply

