Chicken Dishes

Broccolini Mac and Cheese with Chicken (Gobble)

So, I’m back in San Francisco.

I’m thinking I might want to move here permanently someday, so I came to spend the month staying with my friend Karen and helping her with her start-up.

Oscar the cat is, of course, very happy that I’m back.

imageimage

An added bonus of staying is that Karen has a subscription to Gobble, a dinner-kit delivery service that advertises itself as being for the “kitchen-adverse.”  In comparison to some of the similar companies I’ve tried (Blue Apron and HelloFresh), Gobble’s meals are supposed to be ready in 10 minutes, and require less preparation.

I’ve made a few of their meals now, and I have to say I really like Gobble.  I think it might just be my favorite of all the services I’ve tried.  To say the meals will be ready in 10 minutes is a bit mis-leading– some of them require way more cook time– but I think it’s fair to say that they will take about 10 minutes of preparation/assembly.

I also find the instructions are easier to understand, and I also just seem to like the recipe choices better.   Lastly, the portions seem to be bigger– the recipe in this post provided enough food for dinner for 3 girls, instead of the 2 advertises.

What’s not to love?  If Gobble was available on the East Coast, I would totally sign up.

The meal pictured in this post is the pan-roasted chicken with mac’n’cheese, made with orichette pasta and broccolini.

image

I can’t give out the whole recipe here, but there are a few things that made this recipe really simple and inconvenient that I wanted to share here.  I liked this approach and can see myself following this general pattern to create similar dishes in the future.

General recipe tips:

-Chicken was seasoned with salt and pepper and pan-fried in olive oil.

-The fresh pasta had to be boiled for 5 minutes, and then the chopped broccolini was added in for the last minute.  (I’m always up for efficient recipes/using the same pot for more than one thing!).

image

— The cheese sauce (bechamel sauce and shredded cheese) was then assembled in the same pan the chicken had been cooked in, to absorb the juices.  The pasta and broccolini was then added, and then served alongside the chicken.

image

I’m not going to lie to you, I know the pictures for this blog could use a little work.  That’s something I plan to work on in the future!  For now, I hope you at least enjoyed the recipe!!!

2 thoughts on “Broccolini Mac and Cheese with Chicken (Gobble)”

Leave a Reply

