Dinner, Main Dishes, One-Container Meals, Steak, Uncategorized

Steak Bibimbap (HelloFresh)

26807778050_84df248cac_o

Of all the Blue Apron and HelloFresh recipes I’ve ever tried, this steak bibimbap recipe might just be my favorite.

According to HelloFresh, bibimbap is a traditional Korean dish.  The name literally means “mixed rice,” and rice and mixed vegetables generally form the base of the dish.  They suggest adding a fried egg on top.

The particular recipe they sent me involved marinating the steak in a mixture of ginger, onion, soy sauce, and sugar to thicken it.  Obviously I can’t give you the whole recipe here, so check out HelloFresh for the full details).

Basically, you saute the mushrooms, scallions, and zucchini in olive oil, before combining them with rice and the cooked (chopped) steak.

27082033325_cd58c46c2f_o

It was a really tasty dish, without too much effort, and with ingredients you might already have in your kitchen.

27082036455_ea9fba9207_o

The only change I would suggest is that you use low-sodium soy sauce– I felt my dish was a little too salty in the end.  I’ll be making that switch next time, but I definitely plan to make this recipe again and again!

26807781080_976d4fdf87_o
“Pickling” the scallion greens in white vinegar to make a garnish
2 thoughts on “Steak Bibimbap (HelloFresh)”

Leave a Reply

