Dinner, One-Container Meals

Great Stir-Fry Recipes to Try

I’m kind of embarrassed to admit it took this long, but it recently dawned on me how *amazing,* convenient, and healthy stir-frys can be.

As someone who’s sick of sandwiches and is short on time, I’m all about the one-container meals, where you can cover all of your food groups in one tasty dish.

Stir-frys are great because you can follow the same basic recipe and easily adjust your portion sizes and customize your ingredients.

Jamie Oliver outlines some great points in the video above:

  1. Basically, you want to chop all of your ingredients before you start cooking, because once you start, you want to cook at a high enough temperature that your ingredients would burn if you stopped to chop.
  2. It’s best not to cook more than 2 portions at one time, because you want all of your ingredients to have room to let off steam (otherwise, the food ends up steamed/boiled, not stir-fried).
  3. Use an oil with a high smoke-point to cook with, such as vegetable or canola.  If you use olive oil, it will burn.

These are my main takeaway points, but it’s definitely worth checking the video out!

My go-to recipe these days is this chicken, broccoli, and soba noodle stir-fry that I wrote about a few weeks ago.

However, I’ve been researching a lot of other recipes, and am just salivating over all the possibilities!  I’m about to go to the market and buy some ingredients, but before I head out, I just wanted to share with you all some of the delicious-looking ideas I’ve found!  I’ll be trying some of these out and adding my own customizations– updates to follow!

Jamie Oliver:

Bon Appetit:

Food Network

I purposely picked out these recipes because they look healthy and flavorful, without too many exotic ingredients… or too many things that are difficult to digest.

This blog was originally supposed to be a blog about helping people with digestive issues.. it’s just such an awkward topic I haven’t figured out how to write about it yet.  But that is to come!

Leave a Reply

