Smoothies

Blueberry, Yogurt & Coconut Milk Smoothie

IMG_3346

I’m not gonna lie, “learn to make smoothies” has been on my to-do list for a while.  And when my roommate got a Nutri-Bullet for Christmas, it pretty much eliminated the last of my excuses.

So I decided 2016 would be the year I finally get into making smoothies.

As someone with a sensitive digestive system, I often find it hard to consume enough calories during the first part of the day.  It’s pretty common for me to experience blood sugar “crashes” where all of a sudden I feel exhausted and dizzy, until I eat something.

I’ve always thought smoothies would be a good way to get some calories in, without asking my stomach to do too much work.

IMG_3347

This smoothie does just the trick.  I’ve adapted it from a recipe I found at Real Simple, however I’ve cut out a lot of the sugar for mine.

Recipe:

  • 1/3 cup culinary coconut milk (make sure you buy the kind for cooking– it’s very thick and usually comes in a can.  Do not buy the watered-down kind that is meant as a substitute for dairy milk, which usually comes in a box like rice milk).
  • 2/3 cup yogurt
  • 1/2 cup frozen blueberries
  • 2-3 tbsp water (you must add water whenever you blend frozen ingredients)

So easy!  Just blend ’em all together!

IMG_3348

A few notes:

Coconut milk seems to be very trendy right now, and is also the subject of some controversy.  Some people claim it has unique health benefits, and some say the fact that it is so high in saturated fat negates those benefits.

I personally believe in the recent research which has come out saying saturated fat may not actually be harmful at all– it is only trans fats which we should avoid.   I’m personally not worried about the fat in this smoothie, but by all means– read up and make your own decision.

If you’re lactose-intolerant like me:   I used this lactose-free yogurt from Green Valley Organics.  So far I’ve only seen it available at Whole Foods.

IMG_3353

I personally think it’s worth the extra effort to find “lactose free” dairy products– that is, products that come with the lactase enzyme already mixed into them.  I find this to be a more effective method of eliminating lactose, compared to Lactaid pills.

Anyway… that’s my recipe!  I hope you enjoy it!

 

 

1 thought on “Blueberry, Yogurt & Coconut Milk Smoothie”

Leave a Reply

