Side Dishes, Veggies

Sauteed Collard Greens & Ginger

IMG_3217

I’ve been craving dark, leafy greens recently.  Every time I walk by them at the grocery store, for some reason I’ve felt drawn to them.  My mouth literally waters as I walk by the swiss chard, collard greens, and other greens.

These aren’t foods I’ve ever really craved in the past, so I figure my body is probably trying to tell me something.

I’m happy to oblige– but I haven’t actually known how to cook any of these vegetables, so making them was on my to-do list for a while.

Luckily, by coincidence, my recent Blue Apron orders have happened to include a few of these greens.  (See my last post for Swiss chard instructions!).

The collard greens in this post were included as a side to the tasty lemon-glazed catfish.  I’m giving these their own post, because I know I’ll want to make them again!

Basically, you mince a few tablespoons of fresh ginger, and then saute them in olive oil:

IMG_3218

Then, when the ginger is slightly brown, you add the chopped collard greens, adding salt and pepper to taste.  (Make sure to remove the stems, and only chop the leaves).

IMG_3219

Saute the leaves are they are wilted and soft.  It’s amazing how they become sweet–almost nutty.  A totally different flavor.

Blue Apron actually included these greens as part of a larger side dish (freekeh), but they were delicious as a stand-alone side.

Bon appetit!

Leave a Reply

