Pasta, Side Dishes, Vegetarian Dishes

Lemon Linguine with Swiss Chard & Caramelized Onion (Blue Apron)

Ok, I’m seriously starting to love Blue Apron.

IMG_3053

Tonight’s recipe: Linguine with Lemon Yogurt Sauce, Caramelized Onions, and Swiss Chard.

Even though I probably wouldn’t make this exact recipe again, I love how I learn new concepts and techniques each time I cook.

In particular, I think Blue Apron does a great job of introducing a wide range of vegetables in their recipes, with very straightforward and accessible instructions.  Thanks to this recipe, I can now officially say I’ve cooked swiss chard– something I’ve been meaning to try for a while.

IMG_3038

Of course, I can’t give you the full recipe for this dish here, but basically you saute the swiss chard and onions together in olive oil, before adding in the pasta and other ingredients.

First, you separate the stems from the leaves, and chop both:

IMG_3043

Then you start cooking the stems first, because they are coarser, along with the onions.  Both of these ingredients need more cooking time.

IMG_3045

Then, when both are almost completely cooked, you add the leaves:

IMG_3049

The pasta was so fresh and amazing:

IMG_3039

The sauce is thickened with Greek yogurt, which I thought was very inventive.

IMG_3052

For some reason, I didn’t love the finished recipe as much as I thought I would.  It just didn’t end up being as filling as I expected.  It seemed a bit more like a side dish than a full meal, which is often how I feel about Blue Apron’s vegetarian dishes.

However, I still had a lot of fun making it, and feel like I learned a lot!

IMG_3036
All the ingredients, ready to go.
1 thought on “Lemon Linguine with Swiss Chard & Caramelized Onion (Blue Apron)”

Leave a Reply

