Dinner, Salads, Steak

Steak & Caesar Salad

My blog is all about healthy, satisfying recipes made with ingredients you probably already have on hand.

I also feel it’s important to appreciate the moments when I felt inspired to cook.  I figure that if I document my culinary successes, it will give me something to come back to on the days when I’m not feeling well and am having a hard time thinking about food at all.

On that note, I present to you an incredibly basic recipe.

IMG_1981

I personally tend not to appreciate complicated steak marinades when I’m in a hurry.   If I’ve planned ahead and purposely want to try something new, then fine.  But most of the time I want something basic and quick, and hate having to sort through ten different online recipes before finding something I actually have the ingredients for.

So here is a basic recipe that I’ll be able to come back to time and time again.  (I didn’t actually follow a recipe– I just sort of came up with the idea after reading through a bunch).

  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1/3 cup balsalmic vinegar
  • 1/3 cup soy sauce (I used reduced sodium)
  • 1 glove garlic, chopped
  • salt & pepper (just a dash of each)

I chopped the steak up into somewhat small pieces, because it was going on the salad anyway, and it would cook evenly that way.  I let it marinate for an hour (although I’m sure several hours would have been better).

Then I heated up a large non-stick skillet and melted some olive oil and butter together to coat the pan, before throwing in the steak.

I wouldn’t yet call myself an expert when it comes to cooking steak, but basically, you want to make sure to brown it on both sides on high heat, and then bring the heat down to let the middle finish cooking.

Then I threw it on the salad.

For the record, my favorite two toppings for Caesar salad are Cardini’s caesar dressing and Chatham Village Caesar croutons.  They just go together like nothing else.IMG_1983

I just noticed that Cardini’s has a bunch of recipes on their parent company’s website… will have to check those out!

The finished product:

IMG_1979

Leave a Reply

