Potatoes, Side Dishes

Potatoes Lyonnaise

photo

Ok, so I’m a little embarrassed it’s been so long since my last post, but no… I haven’t forgotten about this blog!

Today I made Potatoes Lyonnaise.  I thought it seemed like a good dish for me, as there was no dairy involved.  It’s actually incredibly basic: caramelized onions, olive oil, butter, potatoes, salt, and pepper.  You can also add chicken stock and top with parsley at the end for flavor.

It came out pretty good, but I ended up not being too happy with the recipe I chose to follow.  It had me cook the potatoes on the stove starting out raw, rather than boiling them first, which would have been a lot less labor-intensive.

Next time I think I’ll follow this recipe:  http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/emeril-lagasse/classic-lyonnaise-potatoes-recipe.html

The one thing I did like about the recipe I followed, however, was that it said to add chicken stock towards the end, which I thought was a nice touch.  So I’ll probably do that too…

photo(1)

Leave a Reply

