Uncategorized

Why I am starting this blog

1328402515_7ec84c7626_b

I have been battling some significant digestive issues for about ten years now.

In that time, I have been through six gastroenterologists, four nutritionists, and four pelvic-floor physical therapists.

I didn’t find any answers at all until I met my fifth gastroenterologist in 2011.  Even then, what really made the difference is that I had started doing a lot of my own research about what I thought might be causing my issues, and this doctor was open-minded enough to humor me.

At that point, I finally started to figure things out.  None of my issues turned out to be terribly rare, or even hard to diagnose.

It was simply that I had fallen through the cracks– that I was a young, relatively healthy-looking woman, and that the first four doctors I saw found it easier to write my problems off as being caused by stress, rather than ordering some pretty basic testing.

So I am starting this blog to share my experience with others.  To raise awareness about the basic things that most gastroenterologists and other health professionals already know, yet don’t always bother to investigate with their patients.   Once you know about these potential issues, and the tests that can be done to diagnose them, you can begin to take charge of your own health.

**You may know me from my other blog, Sunlight in Winter, where I write about my journey with fibromyalgia/chronic pain.  If not, be sure to check it out!**

**A big thank you to Sharon Mollerus for the strawberry picture!**

 

 

4 thoughts on “Why I am starting this blog”

Leave a Reply

